Ministry of Community Development Culture and the Arts


Gallery Image - Mentoring by the Masters Awards Ceremony 2
Mentoring by the Masters Media Launch

Social Feed

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Mentoring by the Masters

Mentoring by the Masters [colourful text]The Mentoring by the Masters project was developed in 2012 in recognition of Trinidad and Tobago’s 50th Anniversary of Independence. The programme allows participants to be taught and trained by senior, accomplished artists and cultural workers over a three-month period. Every year experts in various areas of cultural practice are chosen to mentor participants.  The programme encompasses developmental workshops and mentorship sessions.

The significance of knowledge transfer continues to resonate throughout this program, as it allows for meaningful interactions among our accomplished artists and cultural workers as well as our budding professionals in the Cultural Industries. This fosters innovation, creativity and builds upon the cultural attributes, indigenous skills and talents of our citizens all while facilitating the preservation of the intangible legacy of our national icons.‘ Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby-Dolly.

Featured Mentors of 2017


Simeon Sandiford

Simeon Louis Sandiford, Managing Director of Sanch Electronix Limited, is a voting member of The Recording Academy USA, a publisher ...
Read More

Sharon Pitt

Sharon Pitt is a well-known presenter and master of ceremonies for many major social and cultural events, most notably the ...
Read More

Lionel Jagessar Snr.

Lionel Jagessar Snr. is a recipient of a Humming Bird silver medal award in 1999 and one of the premier ...
Read More

Rosalind Gabriel

Rosalind Gabriel is a well-known expert in the creation of Children’s Carnival costumes and bands as she has over 40 ...
Read More

Janice Patricia McLeod

Janice Patricia Price McLeod is the Chief Priestess and founder of Ile Eko Sango/Osun Mil’osa and Irentegbe situated at Santa ...
Read More

Past mentors include:

Zeno Constance
Rodney Ramjit
Krishna Persad
Dr. Kim Johnson
Errol Ince
Earl Lovelace
Lindy Ann Bodden-Rich
Mr. Stephen Derek
Ms . Rudylynn de Four Roberts
Ravindra Nath Maharaj
Marina Salandy-Brown
Renee Cummings
Joseph Valley
Narcenio ‘Señor’ Gomez
Winsford Devine
trinidad + tobago film festival
Paul Keens-Douglas
Albert Laveau
Mr. Kenwyn Crichlow
Mr. Glendon Morris

Areas of Focus to date include:

Theatre Arts
Costume Design and Making for Ramleela
Classical Indian Dance
Writing for Film
Music/ Music Accompaniment
Professional Development in Broadcasting
Children’s Mas
Festival Development
Heritage Preservation through Film
Literary Arts
Heritage Architecture Preservation
Professional Development for Visual Arts
Copper Arts
Ifa/ Orisa
Fancy Indian Mas
Aspects of Music Production & the Business of Music